Don’t Look at Gary Cederstrom

23 May

(US Presswire)

When runs are coming at a minium, you can’t afford to be without your best hitter.

But if your best hitter should happen to look at Gary Cederstrom the wrong way, then anything is possible.

In the top of the third inning Carlos Ruiz was ejected from the game when he questioned a call on a pitch by Roy Halladay.

“Chooch said he just told the umpire, ‘That was a strike,’ and when he looked up at him he threw him out of the game,” Manuel said. “When I went out there, the ump said, ‘He was looking at me and I threw him out.’ “

Great.

I suppose that Cederstrom thought that Chooch was showing him up, but really, who is showing up who here?  Sometimes the umpiring crews need to let stuff go, and stop trying to interject themselves into the game so much.

Joe West must have written a handbook for these guys or something…

Roy Halladay was in the middle of coughing up 4 runs to Nationals at the time of the incodent, and you could tell he was less then pleased with the ejection of his catcher.

“I didn’t see anything wrong with what he did,” Halladay said. “He didn’t use obscene language. He simply said it was a strike. I’ve never seen one like that before. It’s unfortunate. He’s our best player and he got run out of the game for saying a ball was a strike. I’ve never seen that before.”

Ruiz had already left the complex when the team was made available to the media.

Keep up with me on Facebook, and Twitter, and soon my App will be available in the iTunes store.

About these ads

4 Responses to “Don’t Look at Gary Cederstrom”

  1. mlblogsbarbward May 23, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    I wonder what Chooch has to say about all this? Wonder if he felt bad about it all? What utter ” BS” that all was!!!!

    • Phanatic Addict May 23, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      Carlos cleared up what he said last night. Something like “That was a good pitch.”

      Pretty ridiculous.

      BTW. I watched your video blog!

      • mlblogsbarbward May 24, 2012 at 9:10 am #

        You did? Wow. Thanks. I’m trying out something new to work on improving my self confidence :) I heard later in the day yesterday that what made him turn his head was because the umpire shouted at him and jarred him. That whole rule about the catcher not turning his head is ridiculous and not understandable if you ask me.

      • Phanatic Addict May 24, 2012 at 10:29 am #

        There is no rule about them turning their head. Cederstorm just didn’t like it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: